Caribbean Premier League 2013 Schedule

Caribbean Premier League 2013 Schedule cricket will start on Jul 30, 2013 in West Indies. The last match of the tournament will be held on Aug 24, 2013.
The onset of the T20 phenomenon in Cricket has given a new lease of life for West Indies cricket. West Indies has virtually ruled the sport for more than a decade when they became back-to-back World Champions in Cricket World Cup of 1975 and 1979. Even in the 1983 World Cup, West Indies has reached the finals of the World Cup tournament, though they were thwarted by India in their attempt to make a hat-trick of World Cup wins. However, the recent couple of decades have seen an unprecedented decline in Caribbean Cricket.

Nevertheless, the T20 format of Cricket coupled the big power hitting crop of West Indies cricketer has brought West Indies cricket to the forefront once again, though not close to their prime yet. The win by West Indies in the ICC T20 World Cup and the unprecedented demand of Calypso Cricketers in league based T20 fixtures around the world like Indian Premier League, Big Bash League, etc, has brought Caribbean Premier League into existence. The Caribbean Premier League will materialise for the first time on field in 2013. The tournament schedule would consist of 6 teams namely, Antigua Hawksbills, Barbados Tridents, Guyana Amazon Warriors, Jamaica Tallawahs, St Lucia Zouks and Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel.

Each of the six teams would be captained by a prominent West Indies name namely Marlon Samuels for Antigua Hawksbills, Kieron Pollard for Barbados Tridents, Ramnaresh Sarwan for Guyana Amazon Warriors, Chris Gayle for Jamaica Tallawahs, Darren Sammy for St Lucia Zouks and Dwayne Bravo for Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel. Players from cricketing nations all over the world are being roped in as well. The time table for the tournament, which will happen from July 30 to August 24 2013, can be accessed in pdf or excel download format through sports oriented websites.
Copyright 2014 All rights reserved.