T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2024

The international championship organized by the ICC in the shortest format of cricket is ICC Men's T20 World Cup. ICC Men’s T20 World Cup was also known by the name ICC World Twenty20. Currently, there are 16 teams taking part in the tournament and they are selected on the basis of ICC T20 ranking. Stuart Robertson, England Cricket Board (ECB) Marketing Manager, was the first person who suggested T20 Cricket in England.

Following the overwhelming success of local competitions, the International Cricket Council (ICC) agreed to hold a World Cup every two years. In this way, the first edition of the ICC T20 World Cup was played in 2007. In 2007, India defeated Pakistan in the inaugural season of the T20 world cup tournament which was played in South Africa. Presently, West Indies is the most successful team in the World championship of T20 cricket, they have won the T20 World cup title 2 times (2012 and 2016). Australia won Last T20 world cup in 2021.

Considering the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024, it would be interesting to know the winner of the tournament from the beginning. Here are the details of the T20 World Cup Winner List from 2007 to 2024. You can also check various T20 World Cup Records.

T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2024

  Winner Runner-Up Margin Venue Year
1st India Pakistan 5 runs Johannesburg 2007
2nd Pakistan Sri Lanka 8 wickets London 2009
3rd England Australia 7 wickets Bridgetown 2010
4th West Indies Sri Lanka 36 runs Colombo 2012
5th Sri Lanka India 6 wickets Dhaka 2014
6th West Indies England 4 wickets Kolkata 2016
7th Australia New Zealand 8 wickets Dubai 2021
8th England Pakistan 5 Wickets Melbourne 2022
9th India South Africa 7 runs Barbados 2024

T20 World Cup Winners List Year Wise (All Season)

First ICC T20 World Cup Winner: India in 2007 (vs Pakistan)

The final match of the first World Cup in T20 cricket was fought between India and Pakistan at Johannesburg on 24 Sep 2007. Under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni, the Indian team won the toss and decided to bat first. Gautam Gambhir played an excellent inning of 74 runs from 54 and Rohit Sharma struck 30 runs from 16 balls. Thus, India kept a target of 158 runs on the scoreboard. Pakistani batsmen struggled while chasing and lost some early wickets. Misbah-ul-Haq played nicely and got Pakistan back into the game. The last over of the match was nail-biting for everyone as Pakistan required 13 runs in the final over to lift the title of T20 World Cup 2007. But finally, Pakistan could not make it and lost. RP Singh and Irfan Pathan took 3 wickets each in that match. Thus, India became the first champions of the T20 cricket World Cup in 2007.

ICC 2009 T20 World Cup Winner: Pakistan (vs Sri Lanka)

Pakistan and Sri Lanka reached the final of the second T20 World Cup in 2009. On Jun 21, both teams fought to win the title at Lord’s. Sri Lanka’s captain won the toss and they went for the bat first. They had lost the grip of the match from the starting when they lost Tillakaratne Dilshan in the first over. The Lanka top order was completely demolished by Pakistan and no batsmen could do much except their captain, Kumar Sangakkara. He made 64 not out that helped them to put 138 on the scoreboard. The target was not so big for Pakistani batsmen and they successfully achieved it with the rocking fifty of Shahid Afridi. Thus, Pakistan lifted the 2nd T20 cricket World Cup title in 2009.

2010 T20 World Cup Winner: England (vs Australia)

In the final match of the Third T20 World Cup, England and Australia were standing against each other for the World Cup title. On May 16, the match started with the toss which was won by the England captain and they invited the opposition to bat in Bridgetown. Australia did not start well and lost both the openers very soon. They came under pressure when they were at 45-4 one time but David Hussey’s 59 runs helped them to reach 147 total. Despite losing 1 wicket very early, England batsmen played with confidence and made 111 runs of partnership for the 2nd wicket. Craig Kieswetter’s 63 runs and Kevin Pietersen’s 47 runs helped them to win the title of 3rd T20 World Cup in 2010.

T20WC Winner 2012: West Indies (vs Sri Lanka)

West Indies and Sri Lanka reached the final of the 4th T20 World Cup in 2012. Both the teams were ready to give their 100% to win the title at Colombo on 7 Oct 2012. West Indies’s captain won the toss and put the total of 137/6 while batting first. Marlon Samuels incredible inning of 78 runs helped them to reach 137. While chasing the target of 138 runs, Sri Lankan batsmen struggled a lot and were bowled out only at 101. West Indies lifted the title by winning the match by 36 runs in 2012.

ICC T20 World Cup 2014 Winner: Sri Lanka (vs India)

The final match for the title of the ICC T20 World Cup in 2014 was fought between India and Sri Lanka at Dhaka on 6 April 2014. India got the first batting but lost their first wicket so early. Virat Kohli played very well and scored 78 runs in that match but a slow inning by Yuvraj Singh brought their run rate down. Finally, India made only 130 runs and Sri Lanka did not face any hurdle in achieving the target. Kumar Sangakkara struck 52 runs from just 35 balls and got the victory for his team and lifted the title in 2014. 

2016 T20 World Cup Winner : West Indies (vs England)

The final match of the ICC T20 World Cup 2016 was fought between West Indies and England at Kolkata on 3 April 2016. West Indies and England tried their best to achieve the title of World Championship and it was one of the best finals. The match went to the final when Carlos Brathwaite struck 3 sixes to Ben Stokes and got the victory for his team. England set the target of 156 runs for West Indies and the incredible innings of Marlon Samuels along with Carlos Brathwaite made the target achievable. Marlon Samuels was chosen Man of the Match for his unbeaten 84 runs that helped West Indies to win the title for the 2nd time.

T20 World Cup 2021 Winner : Australia (vs New Zealand)

Last year Australia won the T20 world cup 2021 by defeating New Zealand in the final match. No one was expecting Australia to win the world cup in 2021. But they did it and in the dominating fashion.


  • Cricket News
  • , Copyright 2024 CricSchedule.com. All rights reserved. Write For Us