India T20 World Cup 2021 Team Squad

A 15-player Indian T20 World Cup team was unveiled by India's cricket governing body, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on 8th September 2021. There are a few surprises in the T20 World Cup lineup despite the general strength of the team. Indian Cricket spinner R Ashwin is included in the team after a long absence. In addition, MS Dhoni served as the team's advisor during the championship. Ashwin's comeback, on the other hand, was a major deal. It was in 2017 that he last played for India in limited-overs cricket before being confined to Test cricket.

Shikhar Dhawan, who led India in the limited-overs series against Sri Lanka in July, was also dropped because of his poor performance in the past several matches. Virat Kohli will be the captain of the squad as the Indian squad has executed successfully under his leadership in recent years. Rohit Sharma as a Vice-Captain and opener will be seen on the crease for the T20 World Cup 2021

Ishan Kishan, who is skilled enough to bat as an opener or in the middle, is also included in the squad. Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, and Rishabh Pant make up the middle order. Obviously, all three of them had a shot at making the team. A good probability exists that they will all make the final 11. Shreyas Iyer, however, has been left out of the middle order. Team India may have opted to retain him in the reserves due to his comeback from injuries and absence of game preparation.

It's not just the openers and middle-order players that get a shock, but also the all-rounders. Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, and Axar Patel have got the responsibility of all-round performance. As much as Hardik and Jadeja are unquestionably India's best all-rounders, the selection of Axar Patel is puzzling. Axar may have not made it if Washington Sundar had been there.

India T20 World Cup 2021 Squad

  1. Virat Kohli (captain)
  2. Rohit Sharma (vice captain)
  3. KL Rahul
  4. Suryakumar Yadav
  5. Rishabh Pant (Wicket Keeper)
  6. Ishan Kishan (wk)
  7. Hardik Pandya
  8. Ravindra Jadeja
  9. Rahul Chahar
  10. Ravichandran Ashwin
  11. Axar Patel
  12. Varun Chakravarthy
  13. Jasprit Bumrah
  14. Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  15. Mohammed Shami

There is another big shocking absence from the T20 World Cup team, it's Yuzvendra Chahal, Team India's top spinner since 2018. An Indian bowler who is a core part of Team India's playing eleven has been unexpectedly left out. When it came to restrictions over cricket, Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal looked to be the favored options for India, but they were kept out of the T20 World Cup squad, and Rahul Chahar and mystery spinner Varun Chakravarthy were included in place of them. The choice of Ashwin is puzzling, even though Rahul has been brilliant for Team India and the Mumbai Indians. Ashwin hasn't played a Twenty20 match in more than four years.

Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Mohammad Shami will be pace attack of the Indian team. In terms of pace, it appears to be the only spot where things are going according to expectation. Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami, and Bhuveshneswar Kumar have been selected by the Indian team because of their proven track record and expertise. Shardul Thakur and Deepak Chahar are also available as back-ups for the Indian team in case of an emergency.

Pakistan will be the first opponent for Kohli's team when they face them in Dubai on 24 October in the Super12. Indian cricketers have been placed in Group 2 with Afghanistan and New Zealand in addition to the two teams that advance from Round 1 of this year's World Cup.

Other Teams in T20 World Cup 2021

South Africa T20 World Cup 2021
Sri Lanka T20 World Cup 2021
West Indies T20 World Cup 2021
Bangladesh T20 World Cup 2021
India T20 World Cup 2021
Oman T20 World Cup 2021
England T20 World Cup 2021
Pakistan T20 World Cup 2021
Australia T20 World Cup 2021
New Zealand T20 World Cup 2021


By Hitesh Jain Last updated on - Sep 11, 2021 1:24 pm | T20 World Cup 2021


  • Cricket News
  • , Copyright 2022 All rights reserved.