IPL Purple Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2023

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is an Indian Twenty20 cricket tournament. At the end of each season, the event awards performers with a variety of prizes. Orange Cap, Purple Cap, Maximum Sixes Award, Most Valuable Player, and Emerging Player of the Year are the many awards.

The Purple Cap is awarded to the IPL's most wicket-taker. The IPL unveiled the debut of the Purple Cap on May 13, 2008, after the inauguration of the Orange Cap on April 25, 2008. During the course of the event, the bowler with the most wickets in the competition would receive the Purple Cap.

While its T20 format is typically seen to benefit batters, we have grown to appreciate the importance of a strong bowler in the league over time. Regardless of how dangerous the opponent batters are, a few fast wickets at any time in the 20-over format may shift the flow of the match. A glance at the IPL 2023 Auction purchase also reveals how the clubs have gone all out this time to obtain performers who can bowl a few excellent overs in the tournament.

IPL Purple Cap Winners List

Year Player Team W M
IPL 2008 Sohail Tanvir Rajasthan Royals 22 11
IPL 2009 RP Singh Deccan Chargers 23 16
IPL 2010 Pragyan Ojha Deccan Chargers 21 16
IPL 2011 Lasith Malinga Mumbai Indians 28 16
IPL 2012 Morne Morkel Delhi Capitals 25 16
IPL 2013 Dwayne Bravo Chennai Super Kings 32 18
IPL 2014 Mohit Sharma CSK 23 16
IPL 2015 Dwayne Bravo CSK 26 17
IPL 2016 Bhuvneshwar Kumar SRH 23 17
IPL 2017 Bhuvneshwar Kumar Sunrisers Hyderabad 26 14
IPL 2018 Andrew Tye PBKS 24 14
IPL 2019 Imran Tahir CSK 26 17
IPL 2020 Kagiso Rabada Delhi Capitals 30 17
IPL 2021 Harshal Patel RCB 32 15
IPL 2022 Yuzvendra Chahal Rajasthan Royals 27 17
IPL 2023 Shami Ahmed Gujarat Titans    

IPL Purple Cap - Season wise Purple Cap Holder

Who are those bowlers who have won the Purple Cap honor since 2008? We will look at the bowlers who won this award from 2008 to 2023 in the Indian Premier League. 

Sohail Tanvir - 1st IPL

Among the finest bowling performances in the league, Sohail Tanvir's debut effort is regarded as one of the best. IPL 2008 saw him take up the most wickets and earn the Purple Cap.

In 11 games, he took 22 wickets. As a key member of Rajasthan Royals (RR), Tanvir was crucial in the team's title victory in that season. This included a 6/14 performance against the Chennai Super Kings. He is the only Pakistan player to hold purple cap in IPL.

RP Singh - 2nd IPL

Rudra Pratap Singh, like Sohail Tanvir, was a key component of his team's title-winning effort in the 2009 season of the IPL. RP Singh, bowling on South Africa's friendly tracks, made the ball speak. In 16 games, the left-arm bowler took 23 wickets. He was awarded the Purple Cap for his excellent performance in IPL 2009.

Pragyan Ojha - IPL 3

Despite the fact that 2010 was the year of the Chennai Super Kings, the Deccan Chargers' Pragyan Ojha dominated the batters with the ball. The left-arm bowler got the prized "Purple Cap" after taking 21 wickets in 16 games in IPL 2010.

Lasith Malinga - IPL 4

Lasith Malinga had a fantastic year in IPL 2011. He not only led Sri Lanka's World Cup campaign, but he also did so well while representing the Mumbai Indians in blue and gold. Lasith Malinga, the most efficient pacer in the IPL's history, took 28 wickets in 16 games, including a five-wicket performance.

Morne Morkel - IPL5

Despite leading the whole season in IPL 2012, the Delhi Capitals were unable to win the prestigious IPL trophy, but their pace-bowling powerhouse, Morne Morkel, maintained that he remained at the top of the ladder in terms of leading wicket-takers. The South African bowler ended with 25 wickets in 16 appearances,  and won the award of "Purple Cap”. 

Dwayne Bravo - IPL6

Dwayne Bravo, the smiling assassin of the Chennai Super Kings, had a breakout year in IPL 2013. Bravo's arsenal of trickery made him virtually unreadable throughout the season, and he ended with 32 wickets in 18 matches. 

Mohit Sharma - IPL7

During the 2014-15 season of IPL, Mohit Sharma was at the top of his game as a pace bowler. And it was on display during the 2014 IPL when he led Chennai Super Kings' fast-bowling team to victory. Sharma ended the season as the highest wicket-taker, with 23 wickets in 16 IPL matches. That season, CSK captain MS Dhoni put a lot of trust in Mohit, and he didn't let him down.

Dwayne Bravo - IPL8

For the third year in a row, the Purple Cap was won by a CSK pacer. Dwayne Bravo, who dominated the seamer rankings in 2013, was back to his best in the IPL 2015 season. The West Indian player confounded batters once more with his arsenal of trickery, finally finishing with 26 wickets in 17 games to reclaim the renowned "Purple Cap."

Bhuvneshwar Kumar - IPL9, IPL10

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, the SunRisers Hyderabad pacer, dominated the 2016 and 2017 seasons. While David Warner was the SRH batsman of the year in 2016, it was Bhuvi who strangled the opposing batters with his knuckleballs and other variations. In IPL 2016, Bhuvneshwar was nearly impenetrable. The bowler took 23 wickets in 17 games and won the Purple Cap award.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar has become the first pacer in history to win the Purple Cap twice in a row.

As SRH advanced to the playoffs that season, he took 26 wickets in 14 matches. 

Andrew Tye - IPL 11

Tye's 2017 achievements created the scene for a bidding battle between Chennai Super Kings, Kings XI Punjab, and Rajasthan Royals in the 2018 auctions, with KXIP, ultimately securing his contract for Rs 7.2 crore. Tye met expectations, finishing the season as the highest wicket-taker with 24 wickets in 14 games to earn the ‘Purple Cap.'

Imran Tahir - IPL 12

Imran Tahir is without a doubt one of the best T20 spinners. In reality, he is one of the tournament's top five leg spinners. In 2019, he was outstanding and a vital member of the CSK team. He was awarded the Purple Cap in 2019 after taking 26 wickets in 17 matches. His squad advanced to another final but were beaten by MI, who won their fourth trophy under Rohit Sharma's leadership.

Kagiso Rabada - IPL 13

Rabada again led the Delhi Capitals' bowling attack with disdain this season in IPL 2020, as he did in 2016. Rabada displayed a high degree of aggressiveness as well as pinpoint precision. Although his last performance in the final [1-32 in three overs] was poor, the South African bowler still ended with 30 wickets in 17 games and earned the Purple Cap.

Harshal Patel - IPL 14

Harshal Patel from Royal Challengers Bangalore surprised everyone and took total 32 wickets in IPL 2021 in just 15 matches. Avesh Khan was at 2nd position with 24 wickets.

Let see who will hold purple cap in IPL 2023 !!


  • Cricket News
  • , Copyright 2024 CricSchedule.com. All rights reserved. Write For Us